CNN–News18 Indian of the Year Awards

CNN–News18 Indian of the Year Awards

The CNN–News18 Indian of the Year (initially CNN–IBN Indian of the Year) is an annual award given by the Indian media house CNN-News18 to recognize outstanding Indians in their respective fields. The awards are presented across various categories including Sports, Business, Politics, Entertainment, Public Service, and Global Indian. The concept for the award was created by journalists Rajdeep Sardesai and Sagarika Ghose.

In addition to the traditional award categories of Business, Sports, Politics, Public Service Entertainment, and Global Indian a new category, that of a ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year-Popular Choice’ was introduced in the ninth edition, where one awardee was selected from 35 nominees across categories basis the votes received from public through Facebook.

List Of Winners of the CNN–News18 Indian of the Year Awards:

CNN–News18 Indian of the Year  Awards
YearPersonPoliticsSportsBusinessEntertainmentPublic ServiceGlobal Indian
2006Manmohan SinghManmohan SinghJeev Milkha SinghRatan TataRajkumar HiraniArvind KejriwalIndra Nooyi
2007E. SreedharanP. ChidambaramViswanathan AnandO. P. BhattShimit Amin and Jaideep SahniE SreedharanArun Sarin
2008ChandrayaanNitish KumarAbhinav BindraAditya PuriAamir KhanTeam ChandrayaanA. R. Rahman
2009A R RahmanRahul GandhiSaina NehwalSatyam Revival TeamA. R. RahmanPratham
2010Nitish KumarNitish KumarSushil KumarKumar Mangalam BirlaS. ShankarLadakh Ecological Development Group & Seeds India
2011Anna HazareMamata BanerjeeMahendra Singh DhoniDilip ShanghviAmitabh Bachchan and team KBCBinalakshmi Nepram, Founder of the Manipur Women Gun Survivors Network
2012Viswanathan AnandManohar ParrikarViswanathan AnandYusuf HamiedIrrfan KhanDr. Devi Prasad Shetty
2013Stop Acid AttacksArvind KejriwalP. V. SindhuRajiv BajajKapil SharmaADR & Lily Thomas
2014Narendra ModiArun JaitleyJitu RaiN ChandrasekaranChetan BhagatTongam RinaSatya Nadella
2015People of ChennaiSania MirzaBandhan BankS. S. RajamouliPeople of Chennai
2017Virat KohliKidambi SrikanthAcharya BalkrishnaRaj Kumar RaoAfroz Shah
2022Neeraj ChopraYogi AdityanathNeeraj ChopraAllu Arjun
2023Shah Rukh KhanNarendra ModiNeeraj ChopraDinesh Kumar KharaMani Ratnam
CNN–News18 Indian of the Year Award winners list

Special Awards Winners


  • Lifetime Achievement: R K Laxman


  • Lifetime Achievement: Dilip Kumar
  • Special Awards: Tukaram Omble, Mumbai Police, Sheila Dikshit


  • Lifetime Achievement: Pandit Ravi Shankar
  • Special Awards: Kamal Haasan, Indian Cricket Team


  • Lifetime Achievement: M. S. Swaminathan


  • Lifetime Achievement: Verghese Kurien
  • Outstanding Achievement: K J Yesudas
  • Special Awards: Yuvraj Singh, Manipur Women Gun Survivors Network, Ronjan Sodhi


  • Lifetime Achievement: Heroes of Rezang La, 1962
  • Special Awards: Aamir Khan & Team Satyamev Jayate, MC Mary Kom, Tessy Thomas & Team DRDO


  • Outstanding Achievement: Leander Paes, Ramakant Achrekar
  • Special Awards: Team ITBP and NDRF, Deepika Padukone


  • Lifetime Achievement Award: ISRO team
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Azim Premji, Kailash Satyarthi
  • Special Achievement Award: Kangana Ranaut
  • Popular Choice Award: Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, P Vijayan
  • Public Service: Tongam Rina
  • Politics: Arun Jaitley
  • Global Indian: Satya Nadella


  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Balbir Singh Dosanjh
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Dr. Bindeshwar Pathak, United Technologies (Make in India)
  • Special Achievement Award: Kangana Ranaut, Ranveer Singh
  • Public Service: People of Chennai
  • Special Jury Award: Leander Paes


  • Outstanding Achievement in Business: Adar Poonawalla
  • Special Achievement Award: India women’s national cricket team, Manushi Chhillar
  • Outstanding Achievement in Entertainment: Team Baahubali


  • Outstanding Achievement: Sania Mirza, Ranveer Singh
  • Special Achievement: Sonu Sood
  • Climate Warrior: M. Yoganathan
  • Social Change: Shankare Gowda
  • Start-ups: Zoho Corporation
  • Special Mention: Kulsum Shadab Wahab


  • Outstanding Achievement: ISRO
  • Youth Icon (Jury): Trinetra Haldar Gummaraju
  • Youth Icon (Popular): Anirudh Ravichander
  • Climate Warriors: Arun Krishnamurthy, Saalumarada Thimmakka
  • Social Change: Ravi Kannan R
  • Special Mention: Heroes of Uttarkashi


The CNN–News18 Indian of the Year Awards celebrates outstanding achievements across various fields recognizing individuals and groups who have made significant contributions to the Indian society. This prestigious event honors excellence and inspires future generations to strive for greatness.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.