29th National Film Award of 1982

The 29th National Film Awards of 1982 stand as a remarkable testament to the Indian film industry’s commitment to excellence and artistic innovation. Organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India, this annual event celebrated the creative prowess and exceptional achievements within the realm of Indian cinema. The awards spanned various categories, recognizing the brilliance of filmmakers, actors, and technicians who contributed to the ever-evolving world of movies.

About the 29th National Film Award:

The 29th National Film Awards, held in the year 1982, marked a significant milestone in the celebration of cinematic accomplishments. These awards serve as a platform to honor outstanding contributions to Indian cinema, recognizing talents that have left an indelible mark on the industry. From captivating storytelling to technical prowess, the awards acknowledge various facets of filmmaking that collectively contribute to the magic of cinema.

Award Categories:

The 29th National Film Awards encompassed a wide array of categories, each dedicated to acknowledging excellence in specific areas of filmmaking. Here are some of the prominent categories and their respective winners:

Best Feature FilmDakhalGautam Ghose
Second Best Feature FilmPokkuveyilG. Aravindan
Best Feature Film on National IntegrationSapthapadhiK. Viswanath
Best Debut Film of a DirectorAadharshilaAshok Ahuja
Best Direction36 Chowringhee LaneAparna Sen
Best ScreenplayThanneer ThanneerK. Balachander
Best ActorArohanOm Puri
Best ActressUmrao JaanRekha
Best Child ArtistImagi NingthemLeikhendra Singh
Best Cinematography (Color)36 Chowringhee LaneAshok Mehta
Best Cinematography (Black and White)Mooru DarigaluShripati R. Bhat
Best AudiographyElippathayamP. Devadas
Best EditingArohanBhanudas Divakar
Best Art DirectionUmrao JaanManzoor
Best Music DirectionUmrao JaanKhayyam
Best Male Playback SingerEk Duuje Ke LiyeS. P. Balasubrahmanyam
Best Female Playback SingerUmrao JaanAsha Bhosle
Special Jury AwardSadgatiSatyajit Ray

Note: The above table showcases only a selection of award categories and winners.

Notable Films and Contributions:

Several remarkable films were celebrated during the 29th National Film Awards for their exceptional storytelling and artistic contributions. Here is a glimpse of some notable films that left an enduring impact:

  1. Dakhal (Bengali): A powerful portrayal of a daughter’s courageous fight for social justice against all odds, directed by Gautam Ghose.
  2. Pokkuveyil (Malayalam): This film skillfully depicted the mental turmoil of an individual teetering on the brink of insanity, directed by G. Aravindan.
  3. Sapthapadhi (Telugu): Directed by K. Viswanath, the film tackled societal issues and the dilemma faced by a Brahmin disciplinarian in a rational and secular manner.
  4. 36 Chowringhee Lane (English): Aparna Sen’s directorial debut poignantly portrayed the loneliness of old age, capturing a true-to-life situation in post-independence India.
  5. Umrao Jaan (Hindi): The film provided an appealing portrayal of the life of Umrao Jaan, a real-life courtesan and poetess of the 19th century, with Rekha in the lead role.
  6. Arohan (Hindi): Featuring Om Puri, the film offered a convincing portrayal of a farmer’s brave struggle against vested interests opposing land reforms.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

Q1: What are the National Film Awards? A: The National Film Awards are prestigious honors presented annually to recognize exceptional contributions to the Indian film industry.

Q2: Who organizes the National Film Awards? A: The National Film Awards are organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India.

Q3: Which film won the Best Feature Film award in the 29th National Film Awards? A: The film “Dakhal,” directed by Gautam Ghose in the Bengali language, won the Best Feature Film award.

Q4: Who were some of the notable winners in acting categories? A: Notable winners included Om Puri for Best Actor (Arohan) and Rekha for Best Actress (Umrao Jaan).

Q5: What was the significance of the Special Jury Award? A: The Special Jury Award was conferred to Satyajit Ray for his film “Sadgati,” which made a powerful commentary on the caste system and societal dynamics.

Q6: How were films in regional languages recognized? A: The awards also celebrated the best films in various regional languages, highlighting the diversity and richness of Indian cinema.

The 29th National Film Awards of 1982 showcased the brilliance and dedication of filmmakers, actors, and technicians who contributed to the cinematic tapestry of India. Each award recipient played an essential role in creating stories that resonate with audiences, inspiring emotions and reflections that continue to echo through the years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.