34th National Film Award of 1987

The 34th National Film Awards held in 1987 celebrated excellence in Indian cinema across various categories. This prestigious event recognized outstanding films, filmmakers, and artists who contributed significantly to the world of cinema. Let’s delve into the details of the award categories, winners, and the remarkable accomplishments that were honored during this event.


The 34th National Film Awards, held in 1987, were a testament to the diverse and exceptional talent present in the Indian film industry. This annual event aimed to acknowledge and honor the remarkable contributions of filmmakers, actors, and technicians who shaped the cinematic landscape. The awards encompassed various categories, including feature films, non-feature films, and critical writing on cinema.


The awards were divided into multiple categories, ranging from feature films in different languages to non-feature films, acknowledging diverse genres and narratives. The event also recognized individuals for their insightful writing on cinema, highlighting the importance of critical analysis and appreciation of the art form.

Award Categories

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

  • Awardee: Bommireddy Nagi Reddy
  • Recognized As: Film producer
  • Awards: Swarna Kamal, ₹ 1,00,000, and a Shawl

Feature Films

For the 34th National Film Awards, a Kannada film, “Tabarana Kathe,” won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film. Meanwhile, a Hindi film, “Mirch Masala,” and a Bengali film, “Phera,” secured the maximum number of awards (3). Here’s a glimpse of the awards given in each category:


A committee headed by Bhisham Sahni evaluated the feature film awards. The esteemed jury members included Bhisham Sahni (Chairperson), Ashok Mitran, Jahnu Barua, N. Krishnamoorthy, R. Lakshman, Ramesh Naidu, Sai Paranjpye, Sankar Bhattacharya, Swapan Ghosh, and T. Prakash Rao.

All India Award

Golden Lotus Award Officially known as Swarna Kamal, all the awardees were presented with the ‘Golden Lotus Award (Swarna Kamal),’ along with a certificate and cash prize.

AwardFilm NameLanguageAwardee(s)Cash Prize
Best Feature FilmTabarana KatheKannadaProducer: Apoorva Chitra₹ 50,000/-
Director: Girish Kasaravalli₹ 25,000/-
Citation: For a sensitive probe into the anguish of an individual trapped in bureaucracy.
Best Debut Film of a DirectorYeh Woh Manzil To NahinHindiProducer and Director: Sudhir Mishra₹ 25,000/- Each
Citation: For an incisive analysis of history and its impact on social injustice.
Best Film Providing Popular and Wholesome EntertainmentSamsaram Adhu MinsaramTamilProducer: AVM Productions₹ 40,000/-
Director: Visu₹ 20,000/-
Citation: For entertainingly presenting the disintegration of the joint family.

Silver Lotus Award Known as Rajat Kamal, the awardees received the ‘Silver Lotus Award (Rajat Kamal),’ accompanied by a certificate and cash prize.

AwardFilm NameLanguageAwardee(s)Cash Prize
Best Film on Other Social IssuesDoore Doore Oru Koodu KoottamMalayalamProducer: M. Mani₹ 30,000/-
Director: Sibi Malayil₹ 15,000/-
Citation: For addressing integrity in the remote educational system.
Best DirectionOridathuMalayalamG. Aravindan₹ 20,000/-
Citation: For depicting society under technical progress.
Best CinematographyNamukku Parkkan Munthiri ThoppukalMalayalamVenu₹ 15,000/-
Citation: For the lyrical visual presentation.
Amma AriyanMalayalamVenu
Citation: For powerful black and white photography.
Best ScreenplayPheraBengaliBuddhadeb Dasgupta₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For its sensitive screenplay depicting an artist’s struggle.
Best ActorTabarana KatheKannadaCharuhasan₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For a moving portrayal of an individual’s anguish.
Best ActressNakhakshathangalMalayalamMonisha₹ 10,000/-
(“Manjal Prasadavum”)Citation: For portraying a range of emotions in Gowri’s character.
Best Supporting ActorMirch MasalaHindiSuresh Oberoi₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For bringing life to a complex feudal character.
Best Supporting ActressBhangala SilataOriyaManjula Kanwar₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For a realistic portrayal of an exploited woman.
Best Child ArtistPheraBengaliAniket Sengupta₹ 5,000/-
Citation: For a poignant portrayal of a young boy.
Best AudiographyPath BholaBengaliDurga Mitra • Jyoti Prasad Chatterjee₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For a sensitive use of sound in the film.
Best EditingMirch MasalaHindiSanjiv Shah₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For creating a smooth flow.
Best Art DirectionMadhvacharyaKannadaP. Krishnamoorthy₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For effectively recreating the era.
Best Music DirectionMadhvacharyaKannadaM. Balamuralikrishna₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For blending classical and folk music.
Best Male Playback SingerLalan FakirBengaliHemanta Kumar Mukhopadhyay₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For superb traditional song rendering.
Best Female Playback SingerNakhakshathangalMalayalamK. S. Chithra₹ 10,000/-
(“Manjal Prasadavum”)Citation: For melodious rendering of songs.
Best Costume DesignParinatiHindiPrabhat Jha₹ 10,000/-
Citation: For authentic costume use.
Special Jury AwardAmma AriyanMalayalamJohn Abraham₹ 5,000/-
Citation: For directorial excellence and originality.
Special MentionHimgharBengaliSandip RayCertificate only


Q: What were the major categories for the 34th National Film Awards in 1987? A: The major categories included feature films, non-feature films, and awards for critical writing on cinema.

Q: Which film won the Best Feature Film award? A: “Tabarana Kathe,” a Kannada film, won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film.

Q: Who was the chairperson of the committee that evaluated the feature film awards? A: Bhisham Sahni chaired the committee responsible for evaluating the feature film awards.

Q: What was the significance of the Golden Lotus Award and the Silver Lotus Award? A: The Golden Lotus Award (Swarna Kamal) and the Silver Lotus Award (Rajat Kamal) were prestigious recognitions given to awardees, along with cash prizes and certificates.

Q: Which film received the Special Jury Award? A: The Malayalam film “Amma Ariyan,” directed by John Abraham, received the Special Jury Award for directorial excellence and originality.

Q: Were there awards for non-feature films as well? A: Yes, the awards also covered non-feature films in various categories, such as documentaries, newsreels, and short films.

Q: Who won the Best Film Critic award? A: Chidananda Dasgupta, a Bengali film critic, was honored with the Best Film Critic award for his unique and insightful writings on cinema.

In conclusion, the 34th National Film Awards of 1987 celebrated the achievements of filmmakers, actors, and artists who contributed significantly to Indian cinema. The event highlighted the diversity and excellence present in the industry and recognized exceptional films and contributions across various categories.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.