International Indian Film Academy Awards: List Of Winners, Categories, Awards

The International Indian Film Academy Awards, popularly known as IIFA, is an annual awards ceremony for Indian movies. Produced by Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt, Ltd, the award winners are chosen by fans who vote online for their actors from the Indian film industry. Established in 2000, the ceremony is hosted in different countries around the world each year.

International Indian Film Academy Awards

The IIFA Utsavam is the South Indian segment of the annual IIFA Awards. Introduced in 2016, it honored the film released in 2015. The inaugural IIFA Utsavam took place on January 24 and 25, 2016, at the Gachibowli Athletic Stadium in Hyderabad, India.

This blog of National Film Awards 2024 exceptionally is about the IIFA awards winner and their different categories or the winners of every decade when it was celebrated among the countries. So readers let’s dive deeper and read our content of the International Indian Film Academy Awards.

History of International Indian Film Academy Awards

The first awards were presented in 2000 at The Millenium Dome in London, United Kingdom. Since then, the awards have taken place at various international locations, highlighting Bollywood’s global success.

Starting in 2000, the event has expanded from a one-night event to a three-day celebration, featuring various activities and events related to the Indian film industry.

These awards honour films from the previous calendar year. Salman Khan has been the Brand Ambassador of the IIFA since its inception in 2000. Five special awards were introduced: Star of the Decade (male and female) Movie of the Decade, Music of the Decade, and Director of the Decade.

Categories of IIFA Awards

IIFA Awards

Here are various categories of IIFA awards given in the list below:-

Popular AwardsSpecial AwardsTechnical Awards
Best FilmIIFA Lifetime Achievement AwardBest Art Direction (2000–2017)
Best DirectorStyle IconBest Action (2000–2017)
Best ActorStyle DivaBest Background Score
Best ActressMost Glamorous Star of the YearBest Cinematography
Best Supporting ActorBest On-Screen BeautyBest Choreography
Best Supporting ActressContribution to a Greener EarthBest Costume Design (2000–2017)
Best Performance in a Negative Role (2000–2017)Face of the YearBest Dialogue
Best Performance in a Comic Role (2000–2017)Entertainer of the YearBest Editing
Star Debut of the Year – MaleSpecial Award for Global ImpactBest Sound Design
Star Debut of the Year – FemaleOutstanding Contribution to Indian CinemaBest Makeup (2000–2017)
Best Music DirectorOutstanding Achievement in Indian CinemaBest Screenplay
Best LyricistOutstanding Achievement by an Indian in International CinemaBest Song Recording (2000–2017)
Best Playback Singer MaleArtists of the DecadeBest Sound Recording
Best Playback Singer FemaleBest Sound Re-Recording
Best StoryBest Special Effects
List of popular awards

Awards Ceremonies

image 11

The following lists all International Indian Film Academy Awards ceremonies since 2000. Below is the list of winners of the International Indian Film Academy Awards year-wise and in different categories.

CeremonyDateBest Film winnerHost(s)VenueCityCountryContinent
1st IIFA Awards24 June 2000Hum Dil De Chuke SanamYukta Mookhey, Anupam KherMillennium DomeLondonUnited KingdomEurope
2nd IIFA Awards16 June 2001Kaho Naa… Pyaar HaiPriyanka Chopra, Kabir BediSuperbowl ArenaSun CitySouth AfricaAfrica
3rd IIFA Awards6 April 2002LagaanLara DuttaArena of StarsGenting HighlandsMalaysiaAsia
4th IIFA Awards17 May 2003DevdasAnil Kapoor, Dia MirzaCoca-Cola DomeJohannesburgSouth AfricaAfrica
5th IIFA Awards22 May 2004Kal Ho Naa HoRahul KhannaSingapore Indoor StadiumSingaporeSingaporeAsia
6th IIFA Awards11 June 2005Veer-ZaaraShahrukh Khan, Fardeen Khan, Karan JoharAmsterdam ArenaAmsterdamNetherlandsEurope
7th IIFA Awards17 June 2006BlackFardeen Khan, Lara DuttaDubai International Convention CentreDubaiUnited Arab EmiratesAsia
8th IIFA Awards9 June 2007Rang De BasantiBoman Irani, Lara DuttaHallam FM ArenaSheffieldUnited KingdomEurope
9th IIFA Awards8 June 2008Chak De! IndiaBoman Irani, Ritesh DeshmukhSiam ParagonBangkokThailandAsia
10th IIFA Awards13 June 2009Jodhaa AkbarBoman Irani, Ritesh Deshmukh, Lara DuttaThe Venetian MacaoMacauMacauAsia
11th IIFA Awards5 June 20103 IdiotsBoman Irani, Ritesh Deshmukh, Lara DuttaSugathadasa StadiumColomboSri LankaAsia
12th IIFA Awards25 June 2011DabanggBoman Irani, Ritesh DeshmukhRogers CentreTorontoCanadaNorth America
13th IIFA Awards9 June 2012Zindagi Na Milegi DobaraShahid Kapoor, Farhan AkhtarSingapore Indoor StadiumSingaporeSingaporeAsia
14th IIFA Awards6 July 2013Barfi!Salman Khan, Akshay KumarThe Venetian MacaoMacauMacauAsia
15th IIFA Awards26 April 2014Bhaag Milkha BhaagShahid Kapoor, Farhan AkhtarRaymond James StadiumTampaUnited StatesNorth America
16th IIFA Awards7 June 2015QueenArjun Kapoor, Ranveer SinghPutra Indoor StadiumKuala LumpurMalaysiaAsia
17th IIFA Awards25 June 2016Bajrangi BhaijaanShahid Kapoor, Farhan AkhtarIFEMAMadridSpainEurope
18th IIFA Awards14–15 July 2017NeerjaKaran Johar, Saif Ali KhanMetLife StadiumEast Rutherford, New JerseyUnited StatesNorth America
19th IIFA Awards22–24 June 2018Tumhari SuluKaran Johar, Riteish DeshmukhSiam Niramit TheatreBangkokThailandAsia
20th IIFA Awards18 September 2019RaaziAyushmann Khurrana, Aparshakti KhuranaSardar Vallabhbhai Patel Indoor StadiumMumbaiIndiaAsia
21st IIFA Awards24 November 2021Kabir SinghCeremony cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic(Winners announced through Instagram)
22nd IIFA Awards2-4 June 2022ShershaahSalman Khan, Riteish Deshmukh, Maniesh PaulEtihad ArenaAbu DhabiUnited Arab EmiratesAsia
23rd IIFA Awards26-27 May 2023Drishyam 2Vicky Kaushal, Abhishek BachchanEtihad ArenaAbu DhabiUnited Arab EmiratesAsia


The International Indian Film Academy Awards celebrate the vibrant tapestry of Indian cinema, honoring outstanding talent across various categories. From electrifying performances to visionary direction and soul-stirring music, the IIFA Awards encapsulate the essence of Bollywood’s global impact.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.